The Fear of Public Speaking

I still remember when I in high school, I enter this one competition, I did not remember the name of that competition but what I still remember is, it involves speaking in public. There are two types, one you are allowed to bring the script but you have to present it in Arabic while the other one is normal public speaking using Bahasa but you cannot bring the script.

Guess what I choose?

The one without the script.

Me, a person who rarely speaks in front of the crowd, suddenly, voluntarily to join the competition and what worse is,

without a script.

The result?

Of course, I fail terribly.

With a stuttering voice, forgetting words I wanted to say, in front of a crowd who look at me like a loser (at least that was what I feel at that time), I ended my speech without delay.

People must be wondering, oh, believe me, I am too.

I know I lack confidence, rarely got into any competition especially those that involve speaking in public.

But, look at me. Hey, I am there, on the stage, in front of a lot of people, tried to do public speaking.

Joke on me.

But the thing is. Even I failed that day, I have this feeling. A feeling that hard to describe. It’s something between relieved and satisfied.

I don’t felt any regret.

Just ashamed. Well, who doesn’t right? After I humiliated myself in front of the public, surely I will feel embarrassed.

But, that’s it. That’s all. Only at that time. Only a few days after that.

Then I’m okay.

And wanted to try. Again.

And again.

I guess I will only felt regret if I don’t take the courage to enter the competition and standing in front of people.

I will proudly say that I am improving day by day.

I’m still nervous to talk in front of others, but when we are well prepared, it didn’t matter.

I lost words, still. But it did not freak me out like before.

Maybe my speech is not smooth, but I can deliver, I may say, almost perfectly. It is enough for me. But, I will still improving from time to time.

Aspire to be one of the Ted Talk speakers. Wish me best, please.

Leave a comment